Hopkins Symphony Orchestra to Perform at Baltimore War Memorial Reply

unnamedThe Hopkins Symphony Orchestra will present a concert at the Baltimore War Memorial on October 15. The concert will include selections from Hovhaness, Sibelius, and Bizet, and is under the direction of Jed Gaylin (DMA ’95, Conducting). This will be their season premiere. Due to upgrades happening at their normal concert venue, this concert and another on December 3 will be held at the Baltimore War Memorial. Tours will be offered as a pre-show opportunity. Tickets may be purchased for only the concert or as a package.

New Exhibit in the Peabody Mews Celebrates 40 Years of Affiliation with Johns Hopkins Reply

George_Peabody_by_MayallA new exhibit in the Peabody Mews focuses on the anniversary of the official affiliation of Peabody with Johns Hopkins. The exhibit is entitled, The Peabody Institute and the Johns Hopkins University: Celebrating 40 Years of Formal Affiliation, and features various artifacts from the two institutions interactions over the years. The relationship between Peabody and Johns Hopkins dates back much further than just 40 years, and this display highlights this unique partnership. The Peabody Mews is free and open to the public and it is located in the Conservatory Building of Peabody, at the base of the Grand Staircase. This project is presented by the Peabody Archives.

Sam York and Musician-in-Residence Program Featured in The Baltimore Sun Reply

Baltimoresun-logoThe Peabody Conservatory’s Musician-in-Residence Program is featured in an article in The Baltimore Sun. It features Sam York, oboe, who lives at the Edenwald Retirement Community in Towson and plays for its residents. The program pairs students with senior living communities and focuses on improving seniors’ qualities of life through music. This is a highly competitive program for Peabody students, but it is even more rewarding for those chosen. The article discusses the program itself, and interviews residents and York about their experiences.

Baltimore Sun Article Features Johns Hopkins and Peabody Reply

SerapHeadShot2An article in The Baltimore Sun explores injuries in musicians and how Johns Hopkins and the Peabody Conservatory are working to combat these issues. The article features doctors and musicians and discusses briefly their experiences with injury. It also mentions Peabody’s steps to combat repetitive stress injuries, including its Wellness Immersion Week and the launching of the Peabody Clinic. Dr. Serap Bastepe-Gray is featured for her work with the Johns Hopkins Center for Music and Medicine.