Theory faculty members win grant for digital sight-reading training Reply

Faculty members Ken Johansen (keyboard skills) and Travis Hardaway (theory adjunct) received a grant through the Technology Fellowship Program, a mini-grant initiative designed to help Hopkins faculty develop digital course resources by combining their instructional expertise and project design capabilities with the technology skills of students who are interested in enhancing their digital portfolios. The focus of this program is to create instructional resources that support undergraduate education. With this funding, student worker Michael Rickelton will be helping to create digital training exercises designed to train students to read ahead and improve fluency in sight-reading at the piano.

Faculty and alumni involved in ‘RENGA:Cage:100’ performance Reply

Judah Adashi (MM ’02, DMA ’11, Composition) was one of 100 composers invited to contribute a few seconds of music to a work entitled RENGA:Cage:100, marking the centenary of John Cage, by Chicago’s outstanding Third Coast Percussion. The piece will was previewed at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC, and premiered in its entirety on Aug. 9 at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Others involved with the work include Amy Beth Kirsten (DMA ’10, Composition), music theory faculty member David Smooke, and former faculty member Oscar Bettison.

Mark Janello Reply

Music Theory faculty member Mark Janello was a solo category winner of the Aliénor Awards, a competition to promote the creation of new music for the harpsichord. The composition, Six Harpsichord Miniatures, and other winners will be performed by a harpsichordist at the joint conference of the Southeastern and Midwestern Historic Keyboard Societies (SEHKS/MHKS) in Cincinnati on March 23, 2013. The audience will vote for their favorite pieces and help choose the winning compositions.

CD release includes faculty Weisner, Hersch, Smooke Reply

Neomonology –  a solo recording by faculty artist Jeffrey Weisner (MM ’95, Double Bass) features three world premieres of new solo pieces for bass by faculty artists Michael Hersch (BM ’95, MM ’97, Composition) and David Smooke (MM ’95, Composition) and former faculty artist Armando Bayolo.  The album, on the innova recordings label, was recorded at Peabody by Ed Tetrault and is partially funded by a Faculty Development Grant.