Mark G. Meadows Releases Single Reply

unnamedMark G. Meadows (BM ’11, GPD ’13, Jazz Piano; KSAS BA ’11, Psychology) has released a new single, “Be the Change,” available now. In addition to some upcoming releases, he has a number of shows in Maryland. On Thursday, June 13, Meadows performed at the National Arboretum in Washington, D.C. starting at 7:00 pm. Then, on Saturday, June 15, he performed at the Atlas Theater, also in D.C., starting at 8:00 pm.

Nasar Abadey and Team Win Discovery Award Reply

nasar abadeyFaculty artist Nasar Abadey, jazz percussion, is part of an interdisciplinary team selected as one of 32 winners of the 2019 JH Discovery Awards. This project, called Billie Holiday Project: Bridging Art, Local History and Community Wellness, connected Lawrence Jackson (Arts & Sciences), Nasar Abadey (Peabody), Gabrielle Dean (Libraries), Roland Thorpe, Jr. (Public Health) & Kali-Ahset Amen Strayhorn (Arts & Sciences).

Peabody Featured in Jazz Article Reply

caton-castle-sean-jonesPeabody’s jazz faculty were featured in an article in BaltimoreBrew. Warren Wolf, Sean Jones, and Alex Brown performed at the Caton Castle, a venue that hosts jazz performances in a setting from another time. The article highlighted the new Peabody Jazz Program, mentioning that it has brought younger people into the venue and has created new lovers of jazz that keep the art form alive.

Mark Meadows Performs in “Unforgettable” Reply

Mark G. MeadowsJazz pianist Mark G. Meadows (BM ’11, GPD ’13, Jazz Piano) is the featured performer in “Unforgettable: A Tribute to Nat King Cole.” King’s hits “Straighten Up and Fly Right,” “(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons,” “Mona Lisa” and “L-O-V-E” combine with Meadows’ signature style for one “Unforgettable” performance. The show runs April 2-14 at the Signature Theatre in Arlington, Va.

Rise Bmore Announces Concert Reply

Rise BaltimoreRise Bmore, a concert event founded by faculty artist Judah Adashi (MM ’02, DMA ’11, Composition), is now in its fourth year and has announced the next event. On Friday, April 19, at Union Baptist Church in Baltimore, Md., Rise Bmore will present free evening of words, music, and movement in honor of Freddie Gray. At 7:00, Brittani McNeill will lead a conversation about art and activism with A Revolutionary Summer, a program that allows young women to gather and experience the creative works of Black women artist. The 8:00 concert includes music, poetry, and dance by Adashi, Binae Ali, Dance Chair danah bella, Taylor Hillary Boykins (MM ’14, Voice), Lavena Johanson (MM ’13, Cello), Richard and Elizabeth Case Chair in Jazz Studies Sean Jones, Jessie Montgomery, faculty artist Wendel Patrick, J. Pope, Tariq Touré, and the Peabody String Sinfonia.