Lavena Releases “in your hands” Reply

in your handsLavena (MM ’13, Cello) released her debut album “in your hands” on March 26, 2021. The album includes world premiere recordings of works by Bryce Dessner, Gemma Peacocke, and Jessie Montgomery as well as works by Caroline Shaw, Ted Hearne, and Judah Adashi (MM ’02, DMA ’11, Composition) and features artists William Herzog and Jeff Stern (MM ’14, Percussion).

Joel Dallow Launches The Cello Sherpa Podcast Reply

Cello-Sherpa-podcast-03-03Joel Dallow (BM ’94, Cello) launched the podcast “The Cello Sherpa” focused on the journey from intermediate musician to the professional stage. Through interviews with experts, the podcast will cover many topics for all musicians including: audition advice, dealing with nerves and anxiety, how to stay healthy, selecting the right teacher, finding the perfect instrument, gig contracts, and more. The inaugural episode is an interview with world renowned cellist Steven Isserlis.

Kendra Preston Leonard Premieres Many Works Reply

kendra leonardKendra Preston Leonard (BM ’95, Cello) has had many premieres and performances of her work in 2020. “Strawberry Man” commissioned and performed by Arwen Myers was released in April 2020, Fire and Dust premiered at the 2020 N.E.O. Voice Festival, Protectress, a full-length opera collaboration with Jessica Rudman based on Leonard’s novella was a part of the American Opera Project’s First Glimpse program. Par for the Course was premiered by Rhymes with Opera, Sense of Self, with music by Lisa Neher, will be premiered by Opera Elect. Leonard published her first collection of poetry called Making Mythology and also published the book Music for the Kingdom of Shadows: Cinema Accompaniment in the Age of Spiritualism.